Choses faites – Sac à main

I’ve really tried to step up my game in recent years when it comes to making clothing and accessories. It all began when I received my serger for my 21st birthday. Since them I also try to finish seams professionally and make store quality clothing. I’m by no means a pro, but I think I do a pretty decent job in fooling people into thinking what I make is store-bought 😉

This here is a purse I made as a Christmas present for my sister-in-law. She likes to shop at Urban Outfitters, so I grabbed a photo of one of their purses and made my own version.

My version of the purse cost me about $15 in hardware and the fabric is leftover from my stash. The grey wool houndstooth is fabric from a vintage skirt that I shortened.  I wish I could sew vinyl and leather but I just don’t have the equipment for it, so I settled on reinforced suiting fabric and wool. It took me about a day to make.

Urban Outfitters version - a little dull for my taste

My version

Includes adjustable strap, working front pockets and magnetic snap under main flap

Inner lining and pockets with matching heavy duty zipper.

This entry was published on December 29, 2010 at 9:00 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Choses faites – Sac à main

  1. This is awesome !!

  2. Wow, this is great. I hope someone is smart enough to give you a machine so you can also do leather. Then you can start your accessory empire along with the paper press.

  3. Salut … qui a été grandes choses .. J’aime beaucoup la lecture sur ce sujet Pouvez-vous m’en dire plus sur ce … J’aime explorer.

  4. nice blog ! and nice handbag 🙂

Leave a Reply

